Who still has a landline?

offtopic

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

Poll: Who still has a landline?

Landline at home?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 LabattBlue

LabattBlue

First Liner

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,387 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 10:27 AM

Just curious, who still has a landline in their house/apartment?

I have been debating about getting rid of it for a few years now, and think I am ready to take the plunge.

#2 PASabreFan

PASabreFan

Resistance is futile

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,289 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 10:36 AM

Shocker. I do. It's bundled with my Internet service, so it's relatively cheap. (And, yes, the phone is the kind you have to crank, with the separate ear piece.) Maybe I've had crappy cell phones, but I prefer the crystal-clear sound of the landline.

#3 Eleven

Eleven

All Star

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,889 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 10:36 AM

I have not had one in ten years and do not miss it.  I had a little problem in 05-06, when I moved too close to the Canadian border and AT&T/Cingular/AT&T would lose signal, but changing to Verizon fixed that.

#4 TrueBluePhD

TrueBluePhD

First Liner

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,732 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 10:41 AM

I still have one, as long as you consider VoIP to be a landline.  I don't use it much, but it's a nice fail-safe if the cell network goes down or I break my phone and can't immediately replace it, whatever.  And at ~$25 per year, I'm really not going to complain (seriously, if you use a landline from a phone/cable company, you're being financially raped...get a VoIP solution, there's several viable options for dirt cheap).

#5 26CornerBlitz

26CornerBlitz

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,097 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 11:14 AM